ACT 126 Mandated Child Abuse Recognition & Reporting Training

Act 126 requires training for all school district employees who have direct contact with children. The training must be a minimum of 3 hours and cover the following topics: Recognition and reporting of child abuse, The Pennsylvania Educator Misconduct Act, and maintaining professional relationships with students.
The goal of the required training is to protect children by ensuring that everyone working with them understands how to recognize and report suspected child abuse.
You can access free training online by visiting the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center at
Please print out a copy of the Mandated Reporter Training Certificate at the end of the course and submit it to the Human Resources Department as soon as possible, or within 30 days of your date of hire. All employees are required to re-certify every 5 years.